Dec 30, 2016

The 2017 Extradition Series winter concert will take place on Saturday, January 21, featuring five works of new and experimental music:

– Eva-Maria Houben, “la solennité des silences” – An open, spacious ensemble piece by German composer Houben, a mainstay of the Wandelweiser group. The texture of each section is determined in the moment by the ensemble members, each of whom follows a series of simple rules to determine when to add their voice. Between each section is silence. The ensemble for this performance will include Lee Elderton (Bb clarinet), Sage Fisher (harp), Mike Gamble (nylon-string guitar), Catherine Lee (oboe), Dana Reason (piano), Andre St. James (double bass), John C. Savage (flute), and Jonathan Sielaff (bass clarinet).

– Vanessa Tomlinson, “Still and Moving Paper” – Scored for a large sheet of paper, pencils, three books, and reading voice, this solo work by Australian percussionist/composer Tomlinson honors the decline of the physical act of writing and the loss of the book as a totemic object, as society moves further and further along the digital path. The piece will be performed by writer and percussionist Matt Hannafin.

– Dana Reason, Title TBD – A new work by Corvallis-based Canadian composer/pianist Dana Reason. Title and instrumentation to be announced.

– Daniel Brandes, “A Dwelling Place for You” – This simple, intimate work by Canadian composer Brandes is scored for two singers, who are asked to immerse themselves in the experience of singing to and with each other. The score, in narrative form, describes a musical/spiritual practice that the two performers are invited to explore, both through their voices and through manipulation of found natural objects (dry leaves, stones, water, etc.). The piece will be performed by Blanca Stacey Villalobos and Tawni Squire.

– Jurg Frey, “Glafsered I / II / IV” – A family of three related works by Swiss Wandelweiser composer Jurg Frey. “Glafsered I” is scored for two percussionists playing crotales and tuned flagstones, “Glafsered II” is for piano and bass clarinet, and “Glafsered IV” employs bass clarinet and percussion. The works will be performed by Dana Reason (piano), Jonathan Sielaff (bass clarinet), and Loren Chasse and Matt Hannafin (percussion).


Music does not exist in a vacuum. In acknowledgment of the U.S. presidential inauguration scheduled to occur one day prior to this event, Extradition wishes to dedicate this concert to the continuing struggle to end discrimination and hate and build a more just, equitable, and pluralistic society.

The Extradition Series is a quarterly concert series presenting composed and improvised New Music and works from the 20th-century experimental tradition. The series is directed by Matt Hannafin and presented in collaboration with the Creative Music Guild.

See our YouTube channel for audio of select past Extradition performances: